Our Agency

IEDA Board - April 17, 2020


Location: Telephonic Meeting Only: 515.348.6300 | PC: 637 605 461#
Date: April 17 | 9:15 a.m.


Voting Board Members Chris Murray, Jennifer Cooper, Linda Crookham-Hansen, Lisa Hull, Doane Chilcoat, Megan McKay, Mark Kittrell, Pankaj Monga, Emily Schmitt, Lisa Shimkat and Thomas Townsend
Ex-Officio Board Members Senator Mark Lofgren, Senator Jackie Smith, Representative Brian K. Lohse, Representative Kenan Judge, Rob Denson and David Barker


  1. Board Chair

    Chris Murray
    1. Welcome

    2. Roll Call & Introductions

    3. Approval of February 21, 2020 Meeting Minutes

    4. Approval of March 25, 2020 Meeting Minutes

    5. Approval of April 17, 2020 Meeting Agenda

  2. Public Comment Period

    1. A public comment period for the full meeting will be held at this time to accommodate visitors. This period is limited to 10 minutes.

  3. Compliance - CONSENT AGENDA

    Chris Murray
    1. 120 Day Report

      Action on all items
    2. Compliance Report

      1. Beth Bruening PC dba Bruening Eye Specialists - Sioux City

      2. Helena Industries, LLC - Des Moines

  4. Compliance - TCC Recommendations

    Alaina Santizo
    1. L8NT, LLC - Iowa City

    2. Terpenoid Therapeutics Incorporated - Coralville

    3. Foundations in Learning, Inc. - Iowa City

    4. Skroot Laboratory, Inc. - Ames

  5. Financial Assistance Applications

    1. Amcor Rigid Packing - Ames

      Mark Kittrell
      Roll Call
    2. Applichem, Inc. - Council Bluffs

      Lisa Hull
      Roll Call
    3. Iowa Bankers Insurance & Services, Inc. - Urbandale

      Megan McKay
      Roll Call
  6. TCC Recommendations

    Pankaj Monga
    1. SBIR/STTR Outreach Program

    2. Optical Operations/NXGenCare - Roland

    3. Apollo Technologies - Iowa City

    4. TradeLabs - Iowa City

    5. Member MarketPlace/Shop Where I Live - Iowa City

    6. Eagle's Catch - Ellsworth

  7. Brownfield & Grayfield Redevelopment Tax Credits

    Matt Rasmussen
    1. Wilson Lofts LP - Clinton

    2. Reallocation of FY20 Redevelopment Tax Credits

  8. Innovation Fund Tax Credits

    Melissa Harshbarger
  9. Election of Officers/Appointments to Committees

    Rita Grimm
    1. Election of IEDA Board Chair & Vice-Chair

    2. Reappoint Due Diligence Committee Members

    3. Reappoint Technology Commercialization Committee and Brownfield Redevelopment Advisory Committee

    4. Reappoint Finance Committee and Rules Review

  10. Director's Office

    1. Budget & Finance Report

      Terry Roberson
    2. Legislative Update

      Jenny Klein
    3. Director's Report

      Debi Durham
  11. Other Business

    1. Next Board Meeting is May 22, 2020 at 1963 Bell Ave., Suite 200, Des Moines, IA

  12. Adjournment


Please Note: The meeting will convene no earlier than stated above, but may begin later, depending upon length of earlier meetings. Agenda items may be considered out of order at the discretion of the Chair for each meeting. If you require accommodation to participate in this public meeting, call (515) 348-6146 to make your request. Please notify IEDA at least 48 hours in advance.

**The Iowa Economic Development Authority Board may go into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code sections 21.5(1)a, 15.118, 22.7.3, 22.7.6 and 22.7.8 to review and discuss records IEDA is required to treat as confidential under Iowa law. This includes confidential business and financial information about applicants and industrial prospects with which the Authority is currently negotiating.