Our Agency

IEDA Board - January 17, 2020


Location: Helmick Conference Room | 1963 Bell Ave., Des Moines, IA 50315
Date: January 17 | 9:30 a.m.


Voting Board Members Chris Murray, Jennifer Cooper, Linda Crookham-Hansen, Lisa Hull, Doane Chilcoat, Megan McKay, Mark Kittrell, Pankaj Monga, Emily Schmitt, Lisa Shimkat and Thomas Townsend
Ex-Officio Members Senator Mark Lofgren, Senator Jackie Smith, Representative Brian K. Lohse, Representative Kenan Judge, Rob Denson and David Barker


  1. Board Chair

    Chris Murray
    1. Welcome

    2. Roll Call & Introductions

    3. Approval of December 20, 2019 Meeting Minutes

    4. Approval of January 17, 2020 Agenda

  2. Public Comment Period

    1. A public comment period for the full meeting will be held at this time to accommodate visitors. This period is limited to 10 minutes.

  3. Compliance


      Chris Murray
      Roll Call
      1. 120 Day Report

      2. Request to Amend District Boundary - Mason City

    2. TCC Amendment Requests

      Katie Rockey
      1. Kimle Aquaculture, LLC

      2. Foundations in Learning, LLC

  4. Financial Assistance Application

    1. ConAgra Foods Packaged Foods, Inc. - Fort Madison

      Chris Murray
      Roll Call
  5. TCC Recommendations

    Gail Kotval
    1. SBIR/STTR Outreach Program

      Pankaj Monga / Jill Lippincott
    2. HomePainter - Altoona

    3. Malum Inc. - Iowa City

    4. Skilled Day - West Liberty

    5. Skroot Laboratory - Ames

    6. Virtual Insurance Tools - West Des Moines

  6. Redevelopment Tax Credit Program for Brownfields & Grayfields

    Matt Rasmussen
    1. Historic Tama, LLC - Request for Contract Extension

  7. Innovation Fund Investment Tax Credit Program

    Matt Rasmussen
    1. Recommendation for Approval of Applications for Issuance of Tax Credit Certificate

  8. Vendor and Contract Maximum Payment

    Ryan Young
  9. Director's Office

    1. Budget & Finance Report

      Terry Roberson
    2. Legislative Update

      Jenny Klein
    3. Director's Report

      Debi Durham
  10. Other Business

    1. Next Board Meeting is February 21, 2020, at 1963 Bell Ave., Suite 200, Des Moines, IA 

  11. Adjournment


Please Note: The meeting will convene no earlier than stated above, but may begin later, depending upon length of earlier meetings. Agenda items may be considered out of order at the discretion of the Chair for each meeting. If you require accommodation to participate in this public meeting, call (515) 348-6146 to make your request. Please notify IEDA at least 48 hours in advance.

**The Iowa Economic Development Authority Board may go into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code sections 21.5(1)a, 15.118, 22.7.3, 22.7.6 and 22.7.8 to review and discuss records IEDA is required to treat as confidential under Iowa law. This includes confidential business and financial information about applicants and industrial prospects with which the Authority is currently negotiating.