Our Agency

IEDA Board - October 16, 2020


Location: Telephonic and In-person - 1963 Bell Ave., Suite 200, Des Moines
Date: October 16 | 9:15 a.m.


Voting Board Members Chris Murray, Jennifer Cooper, Linda Crookham-Hansen, Lisa Hull, Doane Chilcoat, Megan McKay, Mark Kittrell, Pankaj Monga, Emily Schmitt, Lisa Shimkat and Thomas Townsend
Ex-Officio Non-Voting Board Members Senator Mark Lofgren, Senator Jackie Smith, Representative Brian K. Lohse, Representative Kenan Judge, Rob Denson and David Barker


  1. Board Chair

    Chris Murray
    1. Welcome

    2. Roll Call & Introductions

    3. Approval of September 18, 2020, Meeting Minutes

    4. Approval of October 16, 2020, Agenda

  2. Public Comment Period
    A public comment period for the full meeting will be held at this time to accommodate visitors. This period is limited to 10 minutes.

  3. Compliance - CONSENT AGENDA

    Chris Murray
    1. 120-Day Report

    2. Compliance Report

      1. Accordia Life and Annuity Company and Global Atlantic Financial Company - Des Moines

      2. Edge BCC, LLC and LightEdge Solutions, Inc. - Altoona

      3. Midland National Life Insurance Company and North American Company for Life and Health Insurance - West Des Moines

      4. POET Project Liberty, LLC - Palo Alto County

      5. POET-DSM Marketing, LLC - Palo Alto County

  4. Financial Assistance Applications

    1. Electrical Power Products, Inc. and Electro Management Corp. - Des Moines

      Linda Crookham-Hansen
      Roll Call
    2. Frontier Natural Products Co-op - Benton County

      Lisa Hull
      Roll Call
    3. Sukup Manufacturing Co. - Worth County

      Jennifer Cooper
      Roll Call
  5. Amendments to Rules

    Lisa Connell
    1. Adoption of New Chapter 14 in Administrative Rules – Iowa Code Section 15C.2 Future Ready Iowa Expanded Registered Apprenticeship Opportunities Program and Amendments to Chapters 12 and 13

  6. Brownfield/Grayfield Redevelopment Tax Credit Program

    Matt Rasmussen
    1. Contract 19-BTC-03 - Ryan Companies US, Inc.

    2. Contract 20-BTC-02 - Landover Corporation

    3. Contract 20-BTC-20 - Oxobow Group

    4. FY '21 Program Recommendations

  7. Innovation Fund Investment Tax Credit Program
    Applications for Issuance of Tax Credit Certificates

    Melissa Harshbarger
  8. Angel Investor Tax Credit Program
    Applications for Issuance of Tax Credit Certificates

    Melissa Harshbarger
  9. Contract Amendment - Vendor Substitution

    Peggy Kerr
  10. Vendor Approval

    Terry Roberson
  11. Director's Office

    1. Budget & Finance Report

      Terry Roberson
    2. Legislative Update

      Kristin Hanks-Bents
    3. Director's Report

      Debi Durham
  12. Other Business
    Next Board Meeting is November 20, 2020

  13. Adjournment


Join Microsoft Teams Meeting or 1.515.348.6300
Conf. ID : 362 166 575#

Please Note: The meeting will convene no earlier than stated above, but may begin later, depending upon length of earlier meetings. Agenda items may be considered out of order at the discretion of the Chair for each meeting. If you require accommodation to participate in this public meeting, call (515) 348-6146 to make your request. Please notify IEDA at least 48 hours in advance.

**The Iowa Economic Development Authority Board may go into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code sections 21.5(1)a, 15.118, 22.7.3, 22.7.6 and 22.7.8 to review and discuss records I E DA is required to treat as confidential under Iowa law. This includes confidential business and financial information about applicants and industrial prospects with which the Authority is currently negotiating.