MINUTES

Iowa Economic Development Authority Due Diligence Committee Meeting March 22, 2024 9:00 a.m.

Committee Members Present:

Emily Schmitt

Doug Boone

Mark Kittrell

Megan McKay

Lisa Shimkat

Jennifer Steffensmeier (Joined @ 9:03 am)

Board Members Present:

Melissa Ballard

Bobbi Bentz

Pankaj Monga

Hank Norem

Tom Townsend (Joined @ 9:01 am)

Ex-Officio Members Present:

Jay Byers (Joined @ 9:08 am)

Rob Denson (Joined @ 9:02 am)

Representative Ray Sorensen

Ex-Officio Members Absent:

David Barker

Senator Izaah Knox

Senator Carrie Koelker

Representative Heather Matson

IEDA Staff Present:

Sonya Bacon

Catalina Box

Rob Christensen

Vicky Clinkscales

Lisa Connell

Debi Durham

Rita Grimm

Emily Hockins

Staci Hupp Ballard

Kanan Kappelman Maicie Pohlman

Anna Lensing

Molly Lopez (Joined @ 9:03 am)

Rick Peterson (Joined @ 9:04 am)

Terry Roberson

Alaina Santizo

Paul Stueckradt

Katie Rockey

Deanna Triplett

Others Present:

Brian Sullivan - Iowa Finance Authority

Annie Smith Barkalow - Corridor Business Journal

Marissa Payne – Cedar Rapids Gazette

Mark Ernst – Black Hills Energy

Tamara Brunow - Brunow Contracting, LLC (Joined @ 9:03 am)

Kerri Russ - Iowa Utilities Board (Joined at 9: 15 am)

John Hall - Marshalltown Area Chamber of Commerce

Jeff Pomeranz – City of Cedar Rapids

Nick Glew - Marion Economic Development Corp. Jason White - Greater Dubuque Development Corp.

Bill Micheel - City of Cedar Rapids

Jace Mikels - Iowa Senate Democrats

Evan Johnson - Legislative Services Agency (Joined @ 9:08 am) Addison Lathers - Des Moines Register (Joined @ 9:17 am)

Chad Brewbaker – Iowa House District 28 Candidate

COMMITTEE CHAIR

Welcome

Due Diligence Committee (DDC) Chair Emily Schmitt called to order the meeting of the DDC at 9:00 a.m. Because she had not yet arrived at the meeting location and DDC Vice-Chair Doug Boone was also participating in the meeting via Teams, the Chair asked IEDA Board Chair Mark Kittrell to preside until her arrival.

Roll Call and Introductions

A quorum of the Committee was established with the following DDC members present: Emily Schmitt, Doug Boone, Mark Kittrell, Megan McKay, Lisa Shimkat and Jennifer Steffensmeier Other Board members present: Melissa Ballard, Bobbi Bentz, Pankaj Monga, Hank Norem and Tom Townsend

Ex-officio members present: Jay Byers, Rob Denson and Representative Ray Sorensen

Approval of Minutes - February 16, 2024 DDC Meeting

MOTION: Megan McKay moved that the DDC approve the minutes of the February 16, 2024 DDC meeting, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Agenda - February 16, 2024 DDC Meeting

MOTION: Megan McKay moved that the DDC approve the agenda for the March 22, 2024 DDC meeting, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: Jeff Pomeranz, City of Cedar Rapids, and Chad Brewbaker, Iowa House District 28 Candidate, addressed the Board.

COMPLIANCE

120 Day Report

Convergen Energy – 90 Day Extension

MOTION: Doug Boone moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the proposed extension of the 120-day signing deadline for one pending contract listed, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier Shimkat. Motion carried unanimously.

Emily Schmitt entered the conference room at 9:22 am.

FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE APPLICATIONS

Staci Hupp Ballard and Rob Christensen left the conference room at 9:24 am.

CO2 Refrigeration Systems LLC - Marshalltown

<u>MOTION</u>: Megan McKay moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board award a \$100,000 Forgivable Loan, a maximum of \$73,000 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum of \$4,500 in Sales and Use Tax Refund, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Staci Hupp Ballard and Rob Christensen returned to the conference room at 9:25 am.

Google LLC - Cedar Rapids

Communities may exempt from taxation all or a portion of the actual value added by improvements to real property directly related to new jobs created by a High Quality Jobs (HQJ) project and used in the operations of the eligible business. The exemption may be allowed for a period not to exceed twenty years.

<u>MOTION</u>: Mark Kittrell moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board acknowledge that the City of Cedar Rapids has approved a 20-year sliding scale property tax exemption with an estimated value of \$56,000,000, seconded by Megan McKay. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Danisco US Inc., a Subsidiary of International Flavors & Fragrances – Cedar Rapids

<u>MOTION</u>: Lisa Shimkat moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board award a maximum of \$174,865 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum of \$234,651 in Sales and Use Tax Refund, seconded by Mark Kittrell. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Weiler, Inc. - Knoxville

<u>MOTION</u>: Doug Boone moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board award a \$200,000 Forgivable Loan, a \$200,000 5-Year 0% Loan, a maximum of \$22,500 in Sales and Use Tax Refund and a maximum of \$90,000 in Research Activities Credit, seconded by Megan McKay. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

OTHER BUSINESS

The next DDC meeting will be held on Friday, April 19, 2024

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the DDC, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 9:26 a.m.

Sonya Badon Board Administrator

Due Diligence Committee Chair

mily Schmitt