# Iowa Economic Development Authority Due Diligence Committee Meeting Minutes April 16, 2021 9:00 a.m.

**Committee Members Present:** 

Megan McKay Jennifer Cooper Linda Crookham-Hansen Mark Kittrell

**Committee Members Absent:** 

Chris Murray Lisa Hull

**Board Members Present:** 

Doane Chilcoat Pankaj Monga Emily Schmitt Lisa Shimkat

Tom Townsend

**Ex-Officio Members Present:** 

David Barker (joined at 9:05 am)

**Ex-Officio Members Absent:** 

Rob Denson Rep. Kenan Judge Sen. Carrie Koelker Sen. Liz Mathis

Rep. Thompson

**IEDA Staff Present:** 

Rob Christensen Vicky Clinkscales Sonya Bacon Lisa Connell Debi Durham Rita Grimm **Emily Hockins** Staci Hupp-Ballard Kanan Kappelman Jill Lippincott Rick Peterson Maicie Pohlman Terry Roberson Katie Rockey Alaina Santizo Deanna Triplett

Others Present:

Cindy Harris, IFA John Stepp Eric Richardson-LSA Sue Foecke

Rick Dickinson Joy Briscoe-24/7 BLAC 561-213-6708

# **COMMITTEE CHAIR**

Welcome

Due Diligence Committee (DDC) Chair Megan McKay called to order the meeting of the DDC at 9:00 a.m.

Roll Call and Introductions

A quorum of the Committee was established with the following Committee members present: Megan McKay, Jennifer Cooper, Linda Crookham-Hansen and Mark Kittrell Other Board members present: Doane Chilcoat, Pankaj Monga, Emily Schmitt, Lisa Shimkat and Tom Townsend

Ex-officio members present: David Barker

## Approval of Minutes - March 19, 2021 DDC Meeting

**MOTION**: Linda Crookham-Hansen moved that the DDC approve the minutes of the March 19, 2021 DDC meeting, seconded by Jennifer Cooper. Motion carried unanimously.

## Approval of Agenda - April 16, 2021 DDC Meeting

**MOTION**: Mark Kittrell moved that the DDC approve the agenda for the April 16, 2021 DDC meeting, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Motion carried unanimously.

**PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD:** No comments were made.

#### **COMPLIANCE**

120 Day Report – 120 Day Signing List.

BAE Systems Information and Electronic Systems – 30 day extension.

Sabre Communications Corporation – 60 day extension.

**Simmons Pet Food, Inc.** – 30 day extension.

<u>MOTION</u>: Linda Crookham-Hansen moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the recommendations regarding the 120-day signing deadline for the 3 pending contracts, seconded by Jennifer Cooper. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **COMPLIANCE REPORT – Amendment Requests**

**Keokuk Mills, Inc.:** Keokuk - Request to Extend Project Completion Date.

<u>MOTION</u>: Linda Crookham-Hansen moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the request for an 18-month extension of the Project Completion Date, seconded by Jennifer Cooper. Motion carried unanimously.

Vine Line Group LLC and Heeren LLC: Cedar Rapids – Request for Contract Termination.

MOTION: Mark Kittrell moved, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen, that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the request to terminate the contract. No tax credits have been claimed to date. Motion carried unanimously.

#### FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE APPLICATIONS

CJ Bio American Inc.: Webster County

<u>MOTION</u>: Mark Kittrell moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board award a maximum of \$408,900 in Investment Tax Credits and a maximum of \$266,700 in Sales, Service, Use Tax Refund, seconded by Jennifer Cooper. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Sadler Power Train Inc.: Cedar Rapids

<u>MOTION</u>: Linda Crookham-Hansen moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board award a maximum of \$31,500 in Sales, Service, Use Tax Refund, seconded by Jennifer Cooper. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

Emily Schmitt disclosed a conflict of interest that necessitated recusal from discussion and voting on the application for financial assistance submitted by Shell Rock Soy Processing. See the attached E-mail exchange. Emily left the room at 9:12 am.

## Shell Rock Soy Processing LLC: Butler County

<u>MOTION</u>: Jennifer Cooper moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board award a maximum of \$2,246,000 in Investment Tax Credits and a maximum of \$1,854,000 in Sales, Service, Use Tax Refund, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

## Emily Schmitt rejoined the meeting at 9:16 am

# **OTHER BUSINESS**

A special DDC meeting will be held on Friday April 30, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. The next regular DDC meeting will be held on Friday, May 21, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business at the meeting of the DDC,

<u>MOTION</u>: Mark Kittrell moved that the DDC adjourn, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 9:18 a.m.

Sonya Bacon

**Board Administrator** 

Megan McKay

Due Diligence Committee Chair