# Iowa Economic Development Authority Due Diligence Committee Meeting Minutes May 12, 2023 9:00 a.m.

**Committee Members Present:** 

Mark Kittrell Emily Schmitt Doug Boone Megan McKay

Lisa Shimkat Jennifer Steffensmeier

**Board Members Present:** 

Melissa Ballard Bobbi Bentz (Joined 9:06 am) Sam Eathington (Joined 9:08 am) Pankaj Monga

Tom Townsend

**Ex-Officio Members Present:** 

Rob Denson (Joined 9:08 am) Representative Ray Sorensen

**Ex-Officio Members Absent:** 

David Barker Senator Izaah Knox Senator Carrie Koelker

**IEDA Staff Present:** 

Sonya BaconCatalina BosRob ChristensenLisa ConnellDebi DurhamRita GrimmEmily HockinsStaci Hupp BallardKanan KappelmanAnna LensingRick PetersonTerry Roberson

Katie Rockey Alaina Santizo Paul Stueckradt Deanna Triplett (Joined 9:04 am)

Others Present:

Brian Sullivan – Iowa Finance Authority Tyler Jett – Des Moines Register

Jason White – Greater Dubuque Development Corp. Ryan Carroll – Greater Des Moines Partnership

Tom Phillips – SPAL-USA, Inc. Derek Lord – City of Ankeny

Evan Johnson – Legislative Services Agency Jessica Flannery – Iowa House Democrats

## **COMMITTEE CHAIR**

Welcome

Due Diligence Committee Chair Mark Kittrell called to order the meeting of the DDC at 9:00 a.m.

Roll Call and Introductions

A quorum of the Committee was established with the following DDC members present: Mark Kittrell, Emily Schmitt, Doug Boone, Megan McKay, Lisa Shimkat and Jennifer Steffensmeier Other Board members present: Melissa Ballard, Bobbi Bentz, Sam Eathington, Pankaj Monga and Tom Townsend

Ex-officio members present: Rob Denson and Representative Ray Sorensen

# Approval of Minutes - April 21, 2023 DDC Meeting

**MOTION**: Megan McKay moved that the DDC approve the minutes of the April 21, 2023 DDC meeting, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

# Approval of Agenda - May 12, 2023 DDC Meeting

**MOTION**: Emily Schmitt moved that the DDC approve the agenda for the May 12, 2023 DDC meeting, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No comments were made.

#### **COMPLIANCE**

120 Day Report - 120 Day Signing List

International Paper Co. – 60 Day Extension

OpenLoop Health, Inc. – 60 Day Extension

Benson Hill, Inc. and Subsidiaries – 60 Day Extension

Google, Inc. - 60 Day Extension

Zoetis, Inc. and Subsidiaries - 60 Day Extension

<u>MOTION</u>: Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the recommendations set out above regarding the 120-day signing deadline for the five pending contracts listed, seconded by Emily Schmitt. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **COMPLIANCE REPORT**

Advanced Heat Treat Corporation – Waterloo: Request to Extend Project Completion Date MOTION: Megan McKay moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority board approve the request to extend the Project Completion Date by 12 months, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE APPLICATIONS**

SPAL-USA, Inc. - Ankeny

<u>MOTION</u>: Doug Boone moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board award a \$200,000 Forgivable Loan, a maximum of \$300,000 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum of \$630,000 in Sales, Services, and Use Tax Refund, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

## **ELECTION OF OFFICERS - DUE DILIGENCE COMMITTEE**

<u>MOTION:</u> Megan McKay moved that the DDC elect Emily Schmitt to serve as DDC Chair and Doug Boone to serve as Vice-Chair until the next election of DDC officers, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

### **OTHER BUSINESS**

The next DDC meeting will be held on Friday, May 12, 2023 at 9:00 a.m.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business at the meeting of the DDC,

**MOTION:** Mark Kittrell moved to adjourn the DDC meeting, seconded by Doug Boone. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 9:16 a.m.

Sonya Bacon

**Board Administrator** 

Mark Kittrell

**Due Diligence Committee Chair**