### **MINUTES**

# Iowa Economic Development Authority Due Diligence Committee Meeting August 18, 2023

9:00 a.m.

**Committee Members Present:** 

Emily Schmitt Doug Boone Mark Kittrell Megan McKay

Lisa Shimkat Jennifer Steffensmeier

**Board Members Present:** 

Melissa Ballard Bobbi Bentz Pankaj Monga Tom Townsend

**Board Members Absent:** 

Sam Eathington

**Ex-Officio Members Present:** 

David Barker Rob Denson Senator Carrie Koelker Representative Ray Sorensen

Representative Heather Matson

Ex-Officio Members Absent:

Jay Byers Senator Izaah Knox

**IEDA Staff Present:** 

Sonya Bacon Rob Christensen Catalina Bos Lisa Connell Debi Durham Rita Grimm Melissa Harshbarger **Emily Hockins** Kanan Kappelman Mary Kelly Anna Lensing Rick Peterson Maicie Pohlman Terry Roberson Katie Rockey Alaina Santizo

Paul Stueckradt Deanna Triplett

Others Present:

Connie DeHaan – Eagle View Partners Jace Mikels – Iowa House Democrats

Jason White – Greater Dubuque Development Corp.

Mark Ernst – Black Hills Corporation

Jessica Flannery – Iowa House Democrats (Joined at 9:10 am)

Brandon Hurley – Des Moines Register (Joined @9:07 am)

#### **COMMITTEE CHAIR**

• Welcome

Due Diligence Committee (DDC) Chair Emily Schmitt called to order the meeting of the DDC at 9:04 a.m.

Roll Call and Introductions

A quorum of the Committee was established with the following DDC members present: Emily Schmitt, Doug Boone, Mark Kittrell, Megan McKay, Lisa Shimkat and Jennifer Steffensmeier
Other Board members present: Melissa Ballard, Bobbi Bentz, Pankaj Monga and Tom Townsend
Ex-officio members present: David Baker, Rob Denson, Senator Carrie Koelker, Representative Heather Matson and Representative Ray Sorensen

## Approval of Minutes - July 21, 2023 DDC Meeting

**MOTION**: Doug Boone moved that the DDC approve the minutes of the July 21, 2023 DDC meeting, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Motion carried unanimously.

# Approval of Agenda - August 18, 2023 DDC Meeting

**MOTION**: Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the DDC approve the agenda for the August 18, 2023 DDC meeting, seconded by Megan McKay. Motion carried unanimously.

# PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No comments were made

## **COMPLIANCE**

120 Day Report – 120 Day Signing List

Atlas Roofing - 30 Day Extension

M.G. Waldbaum dba Michael Foods – 90 Day Extension

Benson Hill, Inc. & Subsidiaries - Rescind Award

<u>MOTION</u>: Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the actions set out above regarding the 120-day signing deadline for the three pending contracts listed, seconded by Doug Boone. Motion carried unanimously.

### **COMPLIANCE REPORT**

Medline Industries, Inc. and MRE DIA, LLC – Dubuque: Request to Extend Project Completion Date MOTION: Megan McKay moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority board approve the request to extend the Project Complete Date to June 30, 2023, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

#### FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE APPLICATIONS

## 3M Company - Ames

<u>MOTION</u>: Mark Kittrell moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board award a maximum of \$534,500 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum of \$12,300 in Sales, Service, and Use Tax Refund, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

The next DDC meeting will be held on Friday, September 22, 2023 at 9:00 a.m.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the DDC, the chair adjourned the meeting at 9:14 a.m.

Sonya Bacon

**Board Administrator** 

Emily Schmitt

Due Diligence Committee Chair