MINUTES

Iowa Economic Development Authority Board Board Meeting October 20, 2023 9:05 a.m.

Board Members Present:

Mark Kittrell

Melissa Ballard Hank Norem

Bobbi Bentz

Doug Boone

Megan McKay

Tom Townsend

Lisa Shimkat

Jennifer Steffensmeier

Board Member Absent:

Emily Schmitt

Pankaj Monga

Ex-Officio Members Present:

David Barker

Jay Byers

Rob Denson

Representative Ray Sorensen

Representative Heather Matson

Ex-Officio Members Absent:

Senator Izaah Knox

Senator Carrie Koelker

IEDA Staff Present:

Megan Andrew

Sonya Bacon

Catalina Bos

Rob Christensen (Left @ 9:50 am)

Vicky Clinkscales

Lisa Connell

Debi Durham

Staci Hupp Ballard

Rita Grimm

Melissa Harshbarger (Left @ 9:27 am) Mary Kelly

Emily Hockins Ann Lensing

Rick Peterson

Kanan Kappelman Maicie Pohlman

Matt Rasmussen Paul Stueckradt

Terry Roberson Deanna Triplett Katie Rockey

Alaina Santizo

Others Present:

Lyle Lange - Iowa Finance Authority

Jason White - Greater Dubuque Development Corp.

Michael Guanci - Department of Management

Jessica Flannery - Iowa House Democrats

Luke Wietgrefe - Lloyd Companies (Left @ 9:54 am) Drew O'Brien - Lloyd Companies (Left @ 10:00 am)

Tyler Jett - Des Moines Register (Left @ 9:43 am) Jonathan Schroeder - PepsiCo (Left @ 10:15 am)

Brian Sullivan - Iowa Finance Authority

Mark Ernest - Black Hills Energy

Steve Nelson - Affiliation Unknown

Jace Mikels - Iowa House Democrats

Nicole Bell - Lloyd Companies (Left @ 9:53 am)

Evan Johnson – Legislative Services Agency

Addison Lathers - Des Moines Register

Kevin Baskins - Des Moines Register (Joined @ 9:16 am and Left @

9:53 am)

BOARD CHAIR

Welcome

Iowa Economic Development Authority Board Chair Mark Kittrell called to order the meeting of the IEDA Board at 9:15 a.m.

Roll Call and Introductions

A quorum of the IEDA Board was established with the following Board members present: Mark Kittrell, Melissa Ballard, Bobbi Bentz, Doug Boone, Megan McKay, Hank Norem, Lisa Shimkat, Jennifer Steffensmeier and Tom Townsend

Ex-officio members present: David Barker, Jay Byers, Rob Denson, Representative Heather Matson and Representative Ray Sorensen

Approval of Minutes - September 29, 2023 IEDA Meeting

MOTION: Tom Townsend moved that the IEDA Board approve the minutes of the September 29, 2023 IEDA Board meeting, seconded by Doug Boone. Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Agenda - October 20, 2023 IEDA Meeting

<u>MOTION</u>: Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the IEDA Board approve the agenda for the October 20, 2023 IEDA Board meeting, seconded by Megan McKay. Motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No comments were made.

COMPLIANCE - CONSENT AGENDA

A. 120 Day Report

Zoetis, Inc. and Subsidiaries – 30 Day Extension
M.G. Waldbaum dba Michael Foods – 60 Day Extension
Back Alley Printers dba Image Pointe – 90 Day Extension
Osmundson Manufacturing – 60 Day Extension
Parker Hannifin – 60 Day Extension
McCoy Group, Inc. – 60 Day Extension

B. Compliance Report

McCoy Group, Inc. – Dubuque

Hormel Food Corporation and Burke Manufacturing Corporation – Nevada

<u>MOTION</u>: Tom Townsend moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the recommendations of the DDC regarding the items on the Consent Agenda, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

Maicie Pohlman left the meeting at 9:33 am.

AMENDMENTS TO RULES

Adopt Amendments to Butchery Innovation and Revitalization Program Rules, 261 IAC Chapter 51 MOTION: Doug Boone moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board adopt amendments to Butchery Innovation and Revitalization Program rules, 261 IAC Chapter 51, seconded by Megan McKay. Motion carried unanimously.

Maicie Pohlman rejoined the meeting at 9:34 am.

REDEVELOPMENT TAX CREDIT PROGRAM FOR BROWNFIELDS AND GRAYFIELDS

<u>MOTION</u>: Lisa Shimkat moved that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the Brownfield Advisory Council's recommendations regarding awards tax credits to 27 projects, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

Vicky Clinkscales joined the meeting at 9:50 am. Rob Christensen left the meeting at 9:50 am.

TECHNOLOGY COMMERCIALIZATION COMMITTEE MEMBER APPOINTMENTS

<u>MOTION</u>: Hank Norem moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board appoint Cory McAnelly and J.D. Meyers to three-year terms on the Technology Commercialization Committee beginning November 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2026, second by Tom Townsend. Motion carried unanimously.

Derek Folden left the meeting at 9:54 a.m.

APPROVAL OF DESTINATION IOWA FUND PROGRAM GUIDELINES

<u>MOTION</u>: Doug Boone moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the proposed Destination Iowa Fund Program Guidelines, seconded by Megan McKay. Motion carried unanimously.

Katie Rockey left the meeting at 10:08 am.

APPROVAL OF VENDOR(S)

MOTION: Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board authorize IEDA to enter into a contract for a maximum of \$148,650 with Zimmerman, Laurent & Richardson Inc. (ZLR Ignition) to develop and implement a Business-to-Business marketing campaign promoting Iowa as place to relocate a business, seconded by Tom Townsend. Motion carried unanimously.

OTHER BUSINESS

- The IEDA Foundation Board Chair will call the annual meeting of the IEDA Foundation to order upon adjournment.
- The next IEDA Board meeting will be held on Friday, November 17, 2023.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the lowa Economic Development Authority Board, the chair adjourned the meeting at 10:19 am.

Sonya Bacon

Board Administrator

Mark Kittrell IEDA Board Chair