Iowa Economic Development Authority Board Board Meeting Minutes December 17, 2021 9:15 a.m.

Board Members Present: Megan McKay Lisa Hull Lisa Shimkat	Emily Schmitt Mark Kittrell Tom Townsend	Jennifer Cooper Chris Murray	Linda Crookham-Hansen Pankaj Monga (joined 9:44 am)
Board Member Absent: Sam Eathington			
Ex-Officio Members Present:			
David Barker	Representative Steve Hansen		
Ex-Officio Members Abse Rob Denson	nt: Senator Carrie Koelker	Senator Liz Mathis	Representative Phil Thompson
IEDA Staff Present:	A		
Megan Andrew	Sonya Bacon	Rob Christensen	Vicky Clinkscales
Lisa Connell	Debi Durham	Jeff Geerts	Rita Grimm
Nichole Hansen	Emily Hockins	Kanan Kappelman Majaja Dahlman	Anna Lensing
Jill Lippincott	Rick Peterson	Maicie Pohlman	Terry Roberson
Katie Rockey	Alaina Santizo	Paul Stueckradt	Deanna Triplett
Staci Hupp Ballard (joined 10:07 a.m.)			
Others Present:			
Cindy Harris		Kimberly Norvell	
Nick Pfeiffer - Think Iowa City		Eric Richardson – Legislative Services Agency	

Pete Evans – Iowa State University Kevin Kane – Iowa State University

BOARD CHAIR

• Welcome Iowa Economic Development Authority Board Chair Megan McKay called to order the meeting of the IEDA Board at 9:40 a.m.

Jason White – Greater Dubuque Development Corp.

 Roll Call and Introductions
 A quorum of the IEDA Board was established with the following Board members present:
 Megan McKay, Emily Schmitt, Jennifer Cooper, Linda Crookham-Hansen, Lisa Hull, Mark Kittrell, Chris Murray, Lisa Shimkat and Tom Townsend
 Ex-officio members present: David Barker and Representative Steve Hansen

Approval of Minutes – November 19, 2021 IEDA Meeting

MOTION: Chris Murray moved that the IEDA Board approve the minutes of the November 19, 2021 IEDA Board meeting, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Agenda – December 17, 2021 IEDA Meeting

MOTION: Mark Kittrell moved that the IEDA Board approve the agenda of the December 17, 2021 IEDA Board meeting, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No comments were made.

COMPLIANCE - CONSENT AGENDA

A. 120 Day Report

Alliance Outdoor Group, Inc. – 30 day extension Calcium Products – 60 day extension CPM Acquisition Corporation – 120 day extension Mid-Am Building Supply, Inc./Knabel's Inc. – 60 day extension Monogram Foods – 30 day extension Tyson Fresh Meats – 60 day extension

B. Compliance Report

Freund-Vector Corporation: Marion – Request for Contract Termination <u>MOTION</u>: Chris Murray moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the recommendations of the DDC regarding items A and B on the Consent Agenda, seconded by Jennifer Cooper. Motion carried unanimously.

FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE APPLICATIONS

Iowa Premium, LLC.: Tama

MOTION: Chris Murray moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board accept the recommendation of the DDC to award a maximum of \$6,000,000 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum of \$4,4145,715 in Sales, Service, and Use Tax Refund, seconded by Jennifer Cooper. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

US Property, Inc.: Council Bluffs

MOTION: Linda Crookham-Hansen moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board accept the recommendation of the DDC to award a maximum of \$104,356 in Targeted Jobs Withholding Tax Credit, seconded by Mark Kittrell. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

AMENDMENTS TO RULES

Notice of Intended Action for Amendments to Tax Credits for Investments in Qualifying Businesses and Community-Based Seed Capital Funds Rules, 261 IAC Chapter 115

MOTION: Mark Kittrell moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the request to approve filing Notice of Intended Action for amendments to Tax Credits for Investments in Qualifying Businesses and Community-Based Seed Capital Funds Rules, 261 IAC Chapter 115, seconded by Chris Murray. Motion carried unanimously.

Notice of Intended Action for Amendments to Iowa Community Development Block Grant Rules, 261 IAC Chapter 23

MOTION: Jennifer Cooper moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the request to approve filing Notice of Intended Action for Amendments to Iowa Community Development Block Grant Rules 261 IAC Chapter 23, seconded by Chris Murray. Motion carried unanimously.

Adopt New 261 IAC Chapter 15, STEM BEST Appropriation

MOTION: Jennifer Cooper moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board Adopt New 261 IAC Chapter 15, STEM BEST Appropriation, seconded by Mark Kittrell. Motion carried unanimously.

Rescind Current 261 IAC Chapter 36 and Adopt Rules for the Downtown Loan Guarantee Program, New 261 IAC Chapter 36

MOTION: Chris Murray moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board rescind current 261 IAC Chapter 36 and adopt rules for the Downtown Loan Guarantee Program, New 261 IAC Chapter 36, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Motion carried unanimously.

TCC MEMBER REAPPOINTMENTS

<u>MOTION</u>: Mark Kittrell moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the reappointment of Donna Ramaeker Zahn and David Bernstein to terms ending December 31, 2023, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Motion carried unanimously.

MANUFACTURING 4.0 – TECHNOLOGY INVESTMENT GRANT PROGRAM

MOTION: Chris Murray moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve twelve applications for Manufacturing 4.0 Technology Investment Awards, deny ten applications received in December, and ratify the denial of sixteen application acted on at the November Board meeting, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Motion carried unanimously.

IOWA STRATEGIC INFRASTRUCTURE PROGRAM – APPLICATION FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE – 3D AFFORDABLE INNOVATIVE TECHNOLOGIES HOUSING PROJECT

MOTION: Linda Crookham-Hansen moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board accept the recommendation of the Iowa Innovation Council and the DDC to approve the request by Iowa State University for \$1,404,000 for the 3D Affordable Innovative Technologies (3D AIT) Housing Project, seconded by Chris Murray. Motion carried unanimously.

OTHER BUSINESS

The next IEDA Board meeting will be held on Friday, January 21, 2022 at 9:15 a.m.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at the meeting of the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board, <u>MOTION</u>: Chris Murray moved that the IEDA Board adjourn, seconded by Linda Crookham-Hansen. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 10:31 a.m.

Sonya Bacon Acting Board Administrator

//McKav

IEDA Board Chair