City Development Board

The City Development Board is appointed by the governor and acts on petitions for municipal boundary changes, including annexation (addition of territory to a city), severance (deletion of territory from a city), consolidation (combining of two or more cities into one city), discontinuance (termination of a city) and incorporation (establishment of a new city). The board functions as an impartial third party responsible for placing an objective influence on the boundary change process.

The board meets monthly. Notices of meeting for the City Development Board are posted on this page at least 24 hours before the start time of the meeting.

Matt Rasmussen  |  515.348.6196  |

Board Members

Mari Bunney
West Des Moines
Polk County
Term 5/1/2019 - 4/30/2023

James Halverson
Cedar Rapids
Linn County
Term 5/1/2020 - 4/30/2024

Chris McKee
Gilmore City
Pocahontas County
Term 5/1/2022 - 4/30/2026

MacKenzie O'Hair
Clarke County
Term 5/1/2019 - 4/30/2023

Dennis Plautz
Fort Dodge
Webster County
Term 5/1/2022 - 4/30/2026