Our Agency

IEDA Board - November 20, 2020


Location: Telephonic and In-person - 1963 Bell Ave., Suite 200, Des Moines
Date: November 20 | 9:15 a.m.


Voting Board Members Chris Murray, Jennifer Cooper, Linda Crookham-Hansen, Lisa Hull, Doane Chilcoat, Megan McKay, Mark Kittrell, Pankaj Monga, Emily Schmitt, Lisa Shimkat and Thomas Townsend
Ex-Officio Non-Voting Board Members Senator Mark Lofgren, Senator Jackie Smith, Representative Brian K. Lohse, Representative Kenan Judge, Rob Denson and David Barker


  1. Board Chair

    Chris Murray
    1. Welcome

    2. Roll Call and Introductions

    3. Approval of October 16, 2020 Meeting Minutes

    4. Approval of November 20, 2020 Agenda

  2. Public Comment Period
    A public comment period for the full meeting will be held at this time to accommodate visitors.
    This period is limited to 10 minutes.

  3. Compliance – CONSENT AGENDA

    Chris Murray
    1. 120 Day Report

    2. Compliance Report

      1. MCF Operating LLC dba Mrs. Clark’s Foods – Ankeny

      2. Mid-States Material Handling and Fabrication - Nevada

      3. ICE Manufacturing, Inc. - Oelwein

      4. Latham Pool Products, Inc. – DeWitt

      5. Lomont Molding, LLC – Mount Pleasant

      6. Clow Valve Company, Division of McWane, Inc. – Oskaloosa

      7. Microsoft – West Des Moines

  4. Compliance – TCC Recommendations
    Innovative Lighting, LLC - Roland

    Katie Rockey
  5. Financial Assistance Applications

    1. Bull Moose Heavy Haul Inc. dba XL Specialized Trailers - Manchester

      Chris Murray
      Roll Call
    2. Norman Scott Co. Inc. dba In Tolerance Contract Manufacturing – Cedar Rapids

      Mark Kittrell
      Roll Call
    3. Spiber America LLC - Clinton

      Jennifer Cooper
      Roll Call
  6. TCC Recommendations

    Jill Lippincott
    1. SBIR/STTR Outreach Program

    2. MC4L dba Tuition Fit

    3. CartilaGen

    4. Paragon Learning Research Group LLC dba Qi Learning

    5. TapOnIt

  7. Amendments to Rules

    1. Adopt Amendments to Reinvestment Districts Program Rules, 261 Iowa Administrative Code Chapter 200

      Lisa Connell
  8. Innovation Fund Investment Tax Credit Program

    1. Applications for Issuance of Tax Credit Certificates

      Melissa Harshbarger
  9. Angel Investor Tax Credit Program

    1. Applications for Issuance of Tax Credit Certificates

      Melissa Harshbarger
  10. Improvements to IEDA’s Website

    Amy Ziegler
  11. Director’s Office

    1. Budget & Finance Report

      Terry Roberson
    2. Legislative Update

      Kristin Hanks-Bents
    3. Director’s Report

      Debi Durham
  12. Other Business
    Next Board Meeting is December 18, 2020

  13. Adjournment


Join Microsoft Teams Meeting or 1.515.348.6300
Conf. ID : 788 769 379#

Please Note: The meeting will convene no earlier than stated above, but may begin later, depending upon length of earlier meetings. Agenda items may be considered out of order at the discretion of the Chair for each meeting. If you require accommodation to participate in this public meeting, call (515) 348-6146 to make your request. Please notify IEDA at least 48 hours in advance.

**The Iowa Economic Development Authority Board may go into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code sections 21.5(1)a, 15.118, 22.7.3, 22.7.6 and 22.7.8 to review and discuss records I E DA is required to treat as confidential under Iowa law. This includes confidential business and financial information about applicants and industrial prospects with which the Authority is currently negotiating.