Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Iowa Carbon Sequestration

Task Force Initiative

Exploring Carbon Sequestration Opportunities

The Iowa Carbon Sequestration Task Force will explore carbon sequestration and the opportunities it presents for further economic development in Iowa. A direct result of the work of the Governor's Economic Recovery Advisory Board, the task force was included in the final report as a top recommendation for the state's efforts on economic growth and sustainability.

Governor Kim Reynolds serves as chair and Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig serves as vice chair. Task force members include key stakeholders representing industries and interests integral to the carbon sequestration supply chain in Iowa.

In June, Governor Reynolds signed Executive Order 9 to launch the task force. The release can be found here.

In July 2021, Governor Reynolds announced the members of the two workgroups that will support the task force. The release can be found here. These workgroups will provide input, review relevant data and policy assessments, and shape goals and strategies.

Carbon Sequestration Task Force

More information on Carbon Sequestration Task Force meetings can be found here. To provide feedback or insight for the Carbon Sequestration Task Force as public comment, please email

For more information, contact: